Actuated
- Free allowance
- None: Self-Service is a flat USD 150 a month for the first server and USD 125 for each additional, with unlimited build minutes and unlimited concurrency; the servers are rented separately.
- Verdict
- paidno free allowance; listed for its price
- Cost
- no price stated
- Identity
- cardcard required, no phone
- Binding limit
- per-object-capa job is bounded by one server's vCPU and RAM; the plan sets how many servers may run
- Evidence
- documented24 sources; a first-party page was read and the sentence quoted
- Freshness
- stale on 2026-12-05checked 2026-11-04 (live); stale on 2026-12-05
| Free tier | none: Self-Service is a flat USD 150 a month for the first server and USD 125 for each additional, with unlimited build minutes and unlimited concurrency; the servers are rented separately. A sponsored programme with the CNCF and Ampere covers some open-source projects unit none; metered on none; there is no list price per minute: the pricing table shows USD 0.005 per minute for every runner size against USD 0.008 for GitHub's 2-core hosted runner, which is the flat USD 150 spread over the workload the page's calculator assumes |
|---|---|
| Price | none stated |
| Limits |
no minute cap: unlimited build minutes, RAM, CPUs and concurrency at a flat rate per server; plans are paid monthly with no minimum commitment; Linux only, AMD64 or 64-bit Arm; a GitHub organisation, not a personal account, and an organisation admin to install the GitHub App |
| Binding | per-object-cap no free allowance, so the card and the plan price fail first; inside a plan the minutes are unlimited and the size of one rented server bounds every job |
| Identity | card a GitHub organisation with admin access to install the actuated GitHub App, and a company credit card for the monthly subscription; the agent's Account API Token is issued on request |
| Egress | not stated by Actuated: jobs run on the rented server, so traffic leaves under that server provider's terms |
| Per-object cap | not stated as a number: a job is bounded by one server's vCPU and RAM, chosen per job with a runs-on label such as actuated-2cpu-8gb |
| Retention | each job runs in a microVM created for it and removed immediately after; server metrics are kept 14 days |
| Interface | git a GitHub Actions workflow targets the fleet with runs-on: actuated or a sized label such as actuated-2cpu-8gb; GitLab CI is also supported. The control plane schedules each job into a Firecracker microVM on a Linux server, x86_64 or 64-bit Arm, that runs the Actuated agent endpoint: https://github.com/apps/self-actuated |
| Tooling | the user rents a Linux server with KVM, bare metal or a cloud VM with nested virtualisation, and runs the Actuated agent on it; Actuated runs the control plane, the GitHub App and the managed VM images, and issues the Account API Token the agent installer needs |
| Composes with | the monthly floor is the USD 150 plan plus a rented server, which the vendor prices at 40-50 EUR a month at the low end of bare metal; GitHub Actions on a public repository stays free and comes first |
| Reliability | the control plane holds jobs in a queue while no enrolled server is online, and drops an autoenrolled agent that has been offline for 15 minutes |
| Notes | Confirmed as a CI runner service, paid only. The vendor charges per server, not per minute: the pricing table's USD 0.005 per minute is the USD 150 flat rate spread over the calculator's workload, and the true monthly cost is the plan plus a rented server. Registration needs a GitHub organisation and a company credit card, so the offer is out of reach without both. Hosted runners with a free allowance in this topic come first. |
| Evidence note | documented the price, the plan terms and the registration requirements are quoted from the vendor's pricing page and documentation; no account was opened |
| Parsed numbers |
|
Evidence 24
| date | source | what it proved |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-30 | actuated.com/pricing | the plan is a flat USD 150 a month for the first server and USD 125 for each additional |
| 2026-10-30 | actuated.com/pricing | build minutes are not capped |
| 2026-10-30 | actuated.com/pricing | concurrency is not capped by the plan |
| 2026-10-30 | actuated.com/pricing | the comparison table shows USD 0.005 per minute at USD 150 a month for a 2-core runner |
| 2026-10-30 | actuated.com/pricing | the same table prices GitHub's 2-core hosted runner at USD 0.008 per minute, USD 240 a month |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/register/ | Actuated is a managed control plane for runners on servers the customer supplies |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/register/ | registration needs a company credit card |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/register/ | registration needs admin access to install the GitHub App |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/register/ | plans are monthly with no minimum commitment |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/faq/ | a GitHub organisation is required, not a personal account |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/faq/ | GitHub Actions and GitLab CI are both supported |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/faq/ | only Linux on AMD64 or 64-bit Arm is supported |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/faq/ | part of the text of Free tier, above |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/faq/ | part of the text of Limits, above |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/faq/ | jobs queue while no server is ready |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/faq/ | server metrics are kept 14 days |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/faq/ | a cloud VM with nested virtualisation can serve as the server |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/ | each job environment is created for one build and removed after it |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/install-agent/ | part of the text of Limits, above |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/install-agent/ | the agent installer needs an Account API Token that the vendor issues |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/provision-server/ | the server must support Linux KVM |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/provision-server/ | rented bare metal costs 40-50 EUR a month per host at the low end |
| 2026-10-30 | docs.actuated.com/provision-server/ | job size is chosen per job with a runs-on label |
| 2026-11-04 | actuated.com/pricing | the plan is a flat USD 150 a month for the first server and USD 125 for each additional; no free allowance |
Unknown values 1
- egress metered: egress metering was not published